An Open Letter To The Girls In The Office

To the girls in the office,

The past six weeks I have sat beside you two, dancing and farting away as I write list after list. The past six weeks we have spent more time together than I have done with my other friends this summer, or even this year.  The past six weeks, I have been more happy and confident than I have been in the past while, because of you.

The pride and happiness I felt upon hearing that I got this internship was soon replaced by the fear of who I was going to be working with. I feared that I would spend the next six weeks sitting in silence in an office, watching everyone else bond and laugh.

That fear was diminished after about an hour on my first day. It soon became clear that I was fortunate enough to have been placed in an office with such open, friendly and weird-ass people, much like me. You made the transition from “new girl” to “one of the interns” so very easy. I came into the office about a month after you had started together, and it would have been easy and understandable for you to be wary of someone new coming. I would be. Someone new would change the dynamic, and what if they didn’t fit in?

But you welcomed me in with hairy, unshaven armpits. It wasn’t long until we were laughing and sharing things, like we were friends for a long time. I did with you what I failed to do in one year of college; I made friends.

And I’m not sure whether you know what that means to me. I don’t know if you know that I love coming to work, because I’m excited to spend more time with you. I wonder do you know that I walk to work quickly because I want to get there as quick as I can. I hope you know that I’m sad for it to end.

It’s a rare thing to put three random people in a room and to have bonded like we did. We talk about any, and everything. You know as much about me as my friends of six years do. You’ve seen every side of me, just like they have over the years. Except you guys experienced it in the short space of six weeks.

I’m still surprised at how quickly I got comfortable with you. It wasn’t long until I was blaring my music out of my speakers, talking about things that make one of you uncomfortable and showing off my dance moves. You made it feel like I had been there since the start.

You are my friends. Not just my work friends, but my real friends. And I’m so happy and privileged to have you as my friends. You put up with me day after day in the office, which is no easy task.

Before I got this internship, I had zero plans for summer. My best friends were going away for 3 weeks, and I was having it tough at home. I didn’t expect to have a particularly note-worthy summer, which is what it turned out to be.

My confidence in not only my writing, but myself has grown in the time I have spent with you. I share something in common with each of you, and both of you. Our quickly blossomed friendship has given me hope for my incoming college year. You have taught me that it’s okay to want other friends, and that you can make them by actually being yourself. As cheesy as it is, that is what happened with us.

You know someone is being their true self with you when you see them in more than one mood in one day, which is what happens in our little office. In the space of one day, we go through several different moods, from our hyper mornings to our afternoon slump that seems inescapable. But no one cares, which is what amazes me the most.

There is no pressure in there to be anything but yourself. Anything goes with you. I can say anything and am guaranteed to have more than one reaction, but none of them disparaging. It still amazes how well we get on. I know the other office are shocked at how close we have become, as I am too. I never anticipated this, to have found genuine friendship in a summer job.

And so, I want to thank you. For the laughs, the chats, the food and the memories. Because of you, this internship means so much more than what is says on my C.V. The experience it has given will benefit me in so many other ways, apart from my career.

From your (at times) non-stop complaining at the top of the table, to your calming presence and random laughs in the middle, you have made the weirdo at the bottom of the table incredibly happy.

My fellow interns, my partners in dance, my friends; thank you.

(P.S. See you Monday).

Leave a Reply

