Learn To Love The Silence

My brain and I have had a tough time lately. I’m a worrier at the best of times, so when something goes wrong, or rather when I think something has gone wrong, my brain and my worrying skills come out to play and go into overdrive. And it’s so very shit.

I have this amazing ability to turn one small thing into something huge. Now, whether that thing is true or untrue, either way it is getting blown up until I can’t see what is actually in front of my eyes anymore.

My vision becomes so clouded with worry and anxiety, and I become consumed by this thought, fear, worry.

I become accustomed to the nagging feeling in my stomach. I get used to feeling slightly sick, unable to eat. I forget that I used to think about other things.

I have one worry, one bad thought that probably means nothing, but it acts as a spring board and I fling myself miles away from reality and find myself face to face with worst possible outcome. But of course, that worst possible outcome isn’t reality. It might become reality, it may come true – one day. But it’s not reality right now.

And I forget that. I forget to actually look at what is going on around me, where I am and how it makes me feel. I instead constantly look for signs that what I fear is true. I search so hard that I end up convincing myself they’re there.

I get so caught up that it’s hard for me to come back down. But I have this time, at least I think I have.

So why don’t I feel better? Why, at the realisation I no longer have that feeling in my stomach, said feeling returns because I’m actually … not worrying?

My brain has been in overdrive the past little while that to find itself in this silence, with no real cause to worry, it doesn’t know what to do. It begins to worry because I’m not worrying. It wants to go back to its natural state.

At least this time I know this worry and fear is meaningless. It’s strange to have a silence in my brain, with no thought at the back trying to inch its way to the front.

This is what I wanted, what I hoped and yearned for all this time.

But I don’t know how to deal with it. I can’t remember what it was like to not have something to worry or obsess over.

I guess it will just take some getting used to.

The silence is frightening, when it should be comforting. It’s uncomfortable, when it should be peaceful. It worries me, when it should calm me.

I need to understand and appreciate that this silence is here because I have overcome what I spent so long aching over. I need to remember to welcome it, and let go of worrying. At least for this little while.

I need to learn to love the silence.

3 thoughts on “Learn To Love The Silence

  1. As somebody who struggles similarly for a quiet mind I can empathize. I used to be a big worrier too, but have gotten a lot better since I hit my early 30’s. But my mind is still very active, and very often I get up early and can’t turn my mind off to fall back asleep. Overall I try not to get too anxious about it. I think having an active mind is also a good thing, I think the most important thing is to give it something good to think about and not worry about worst case scenarios in the future, which would be a waste of energy. I can tell from your posts that you are quite intelligent and do think about a lot issues, and that’s what my brain does too. Dwelling on various bits of philosophy, human behavior, science, etc, and just sinking myself deep into them. If you’re having trouble quieting the mind, read, write, put that mind to work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

